RECIPE: Falafel pitta bread burgers

I first saw this recipe when I was looking for things to add into my recipe board on Pinterest (see HERE if you’re interested). I’ve been looking for healthy meals to learn for a while – you can’t live on pasta alone (said someone, who obviously didn’t love the stuff as much as me), and so I popped this recipe into my ‘to make’ list – eager to give it a go. And today I did.

The recipe is pretty simple and it’s fast to make. It calls for tomato salsa – which you can purchase, but if you’re looking for more of a messy challenge I’m also going to post a recipe for a good salsa which I’ll link HERE when it’s done.

So here goes:

Ingredients:

(Serves 4 – or two hungry people!)

Image

400g canned chickpea’s  – rinsed, drained and patted dry.

1 garlic clove

1 handful of flat/curly parsley

1tsp ground cumin

1tsp ground corriander

1/2 tsp harissa paste or chilli powder

2tbsp plain flour

2tbsp sunflower oil (or whatever oil you like to cook with, I used rapeseed)

toasted pitta breads (brown if you’re trying to be healthier)

200g tomato salsa (purchased or homemade – see HERE)

Salad leaves of your choice

Method:

Dump the dried chickpea’s into a food processor – it’s pretty imperative you use a food processor, as you want to make a paste.

Add the garlic, parsley, spices and flour and salt. The recipe calls for a ‘little’ salt, but when I cooked this it really could have done with more, so I’d add half a teaspoon and then more to taste.

Blend until fairly smooth and then scoop out and shape into 4-6 patties, depending on how big you want them.

Heat up your oil in a non stick frying pan and add the burgers – they take about 3-5 minutes per side, depending on the heat of your pan/ oil, so keep an eye on them! Once they are golden brown on each side remove from heat.

Serve with toasted pitta’s, tomato salsa and salad – I threw some light mayo onto mine as well and it was delish!!

And that’s pretty much it – it seems like a lot of work, but it actually was super quick, and

Image

the outcome was a great looking meal with minimal effort.

As you can see here, they didn’t last long!

Give them a whirl – let me know what you think and if you have any suggestions on how to make them extra tasty!

BON APPÉTIT!

Sam

Leave a Reply

