RECIPE: Broccoli & Halloumi noodle stir fry

Hands up, who has half a block of halloumi cheese left over from the other day? 

Well, if you want to do something fun and healthy with it (rather than just eat it like a pig!) why not try this:

 

Ingredients: (serves 2)

whole head of broccoli, chopped into small trees 🙂

half a carton of medium sized mushrooms – if you’re buying individually its about 6 – chopped in half

1 bell pepper – colour of your choice – sliced

half a packet of halloumi cheese

1 nest of dried egg noodles 

dash of soy sauce (I used dark, but regular or light is fine)

 

Method:

You’re going to want to heat up some water in a wok – I don’t know exactly how much I use, I just boil the kettle and pour it in the wok until there’s about 2 inches of liquid boiling away. 

Once the bubbles are going throw your broccoli in – when it comes to stirfry I always part boil the broccoli in water before I cook anything else, as it means it gets a good cook but it’s still firm enough when all the other ingredients are added!

Cook this on a medium/high setting until there is no water left. 

Add your mushrooms and peppers. I don’t add any oil to the wok when cooking with mushrooms because they create their own liquids. Adding more just tends to get too ‘juicy’ – and I also never cook with oil anyway. If I have to use some form of pan lubrication I just use a spray called Fry Light, which is low cal and does the job OK. 

After the mushrooms have been in for about 5 minutes you can cook your noodles which will take about 7 minutes. At this point you should also add the halloumi to the wok and give it a good stir. 

Keep it moving to get the flavours infused in the cheese and turn off the heat when the mushrooms and cheese look soft. This should also be around the time the noodles are ready. 

Drain the noodles and divide between two plates and then divide the stir fry. I added a good slosh of soy sauce just to dress it, but it’s not needed and you can use anything to add a little flavour – I imagine sweet chilli sauce would work a treat!

 

Sadly no pictures today because I wolfed it down before thinking – I was ravenous, what can I say? 😛

BON APPÉTIT!

Sam

 

 

Leave a Reply

